Bookabuy

Home » Blog

News & Reviews

Bookabuy Book Club Launch cover

Bookabuy Book Club Launch

Join us on 12 July in Sydney for the first Bookabuy Book Club meetup!

Get Tickets

We Love to Imagine: Joanna cover

We Love to Imagine: Joanna

We love to read, and we love to imagine! Our customers provide incredible detail in their book subscription orders, and we love imagining what they are like in real life!

In the next instalment of our "We Love to Imagine" series, we meet Joanna from Tasmania! Here’s what Joanna told us about herself:

“I work in advocacy and community development. I love to travel and to read stories of far away places. I like to cook but I'm not terribly good at it. I have a dachshund who I adore way too much. I spend a lot of time eating out, at the beach and at the markets. I'm also very interested in Australian art.”

If you’re a current Bookabuy subscriber and would like to be featured next, let us know by emailing us at hello@bookabuy.com.au!

Free Audible audiobooks for Bookabuy subscribers cover

Free Audible audiobooks for Bookabuy subscribers

Great news - we’ve partnered with Audible to offer our subscribers free audiobooks! Purchase any Bookabuy subscription or gift voucher and get an Audible VIP card for 3 free audiobooks!

Audible lets you enjoy great storytelling on the go! There are no strings attached, so you can cancel anytime, love every audiobook or swap it free, and best of all you can take your pick from over 200,000 titles.

Shop now

Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018 cover

Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018

Vote for Bookabuy to win the Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018 and you could win a shopping spree valued at up to $10,000!

Vote here now.

Voting closes at 5pm on 31 May 2018.

Mother's Day Giveaway cover

Mother's Day Giveaway

Mother’s Day is coming up, and we’re giving two lucky people the gift that keeps on giving – a 3-month book subscription package for both themselves and for their Mum!

You can enter via Facebook or Instagram, or both!

Our competition closes on Monday 7 May, and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 8 May.

Good luck!

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir cover

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir

If there is one memoir you need to read this year, it’s this one. Patrisse Khan-Cullors, one of the co-founders of the Black Lives Matter movement, reveals the prejudice and persecution endured by African American people in When They Call You a Terrorist.

Patrisse’s compelling account of the struggles faced by Black people in the US raises awareness about police brutality, mass incarceration, and a host of other vital issues crippling communities. The memoir begins with Patrisse's childhood and with the activism borne within her through family struggles, experiences with love, and the everyday interactions with injustice and systematic racism. It moves as she matures in her relationships, world views, and in womanhood.

When They Call You a Terrorist is a critical contribution to the discussions about social justice in this current world landscape. This is a book that will make people stop and think before they utter the words “All Lives Matter”. This is a book that will force people to rethink the way the US criminal justice system really works. This is a book that will make you think about mental illnesses, how they are discussed and treated throughout the US. This is a book that will make you think about the roles of women and what it means to be Queer or Trans in this continual fight for change.

Necessary, well thought out, emotional and direct. We highly recommend this read.

At First Light cover

At First Light

1993: An old Cuban woman is out walking in Key West when she comes across a Ku Klux Klan rally in the park. Quickly, she returns home, picks up her gun, and returns to shoot and kill a Klan member. When she is arrested she admits to the charges against her: “It was me. I did it.” Is Alicia Cortez a cold-blooded killer?

1919: Escaping Cuba and her family, Alicia Cortez arrives in Key West where she soon meets and falls in love with war hero John Morales. As racial tensions rise in Key West, Alicia and John’s interracial relationship begins to draw the attention of the local Ku Klux Klan, who have recently established themselves within the community.

Inspired by true events, Vanessa Lafaye has beautifully crafted a social history with insights into the mindset of the Ku Klux Klan and their prejudices, the stresses of forbidden love, and life in 1919 Key West, through to the modern-day handling of a crime of passion and revenge. At First Light exposes the evil that permeated the United States, with the Ku Klux Klan taking a central role and, whilst this is a glimpse into the history books, it is frightening to realise the similarities to contemporary events taking place in our current world landscape.

The author uses beautiful and evocative imagery, with an undercurrent of fear, and all of the characters are vividly drawn. The structure of the book is seamless, switching effortlessly from past to present day. Lafaye has an exceptional gift for storytelling.

Every so often a book comes along that you immediately know you're going to read more than once, you want to keep like a treasure on your bookshelf, and you'll be recommending to everyone. At First Light is just that book.

Perfect for readers who enjoyed The Help and To Kill a Mockingbird.

ShelfLife cover

ShelfLife

Imagine a service like Airbnb, allowing users from around the globe to find the perfect place to stay. However, instead of simply renting out someone’s home, you lease their lifestyle. That’s the idea behind ShelfLife, a start-up company that aspires to “help people change their lives, one week at a time”.

ShelfLife centres around three key characters – Trent (“the Hustler”), Gavin (“the Hipster”) and Shanti (“the Hacker”). The story opens with Trent pretending to be a doctor in an Emergency Room, and quickly moves towards the three friends becoming fast business partners. They are taken on a fast-paced rollercoaster ride, exiting their mundane employment to build a new and exciting worldwide company based in Singapore.

Barrie Seppings has created a highly enjoyable, witty and addictive storyline that clearly shows his immense understanding of the challenges faced by entrepreneurs in the crazy world of tech start-ups.

While incredibly easy to read, ShelfLife is also very provocative and stimulates careful consideration.

If you could swap lives for a week with anyone on the planet, who would you choose to be?

We Love to Imagine: Grace cover

We Love to Imagine: Grace

In the next instalment of our "We Love to Imagine" series, we meet Grace from VIC!

Here’s what Grace told us about herself:

"I work from home as a bookish jewellery designer. I like all things Beauty and the Beast, the Addams Family (Morticia and Gomez are #goals) and books. I like 80s horror films and Disney films which I usually watch with my fluffy ragdoll cat (and on the special occasion, I can con my partner into watching them with me too)."

If you’re a current Bookabuy subscriber and would like to be featured next, let us know by emailing us at hello@bookabuy.com.au!

The Alice Network cover

The Alice Network

“Are you ever afraid?”

“Yes, just like everybody else. But only after the danger is done—before that, fear is an indulgence. Welcome to the Alice Network.”

Based on real characters and events, The Alice Network is a historical fiction novel weaving back and forth between 1915 and 1947, with Evelyn “Eve” Gardiner, a former World War I spy, and Charlotte “Charlie” St Clair, a pregnant American in search of her cousin, Rose. Everyone assumes Rose died during WWII, but Charlie wants proof which leads her to Eve.

The Alice Network is an admirable, fast-paced, and fascinating story about two women facing challenges and discrimination because of their gender. In the last several years, women from many different walks of life and ethnicities, and their integral contributions to the arts and science, are being uncovered, recognised and brought to mainstream attention in literature and film. The Alice Network is another such contribution; the retelling of a spy network consisting of women who put themselves in grave danger to collect information that the allies could use to defeat Germany. The Alice Network was lead by the remarkable Louise de Bettignies, alias Alice Dubois.

Perhaps the most powerful element of the novel is Eve’s emotional, heartbreaking, broken, grief- and guilt-stricken narrative, as we learn her backstory and her part in The Alice Network. Eve’s character and her perspectives are very strong, and I loved how Kate Quinn gave her a stutter; it was interesting to see how she was able to use this weakness to her advantage.

The Alice Network makes for an interesting group read and discussion for those in a book club.