Bookabuy

Home » Blog

News & Reviews

Free gift with purchase cover

Free gift with purchase

Purchase a pre-paid or monthly recurring Books & Tea Subscription and receive a bonus colourful loose leaf tea infuser with your first package!*

* While stocks last.

Bookabuy Book Club: Vintage Classics cover

Bookabuy Book Club: Vintage Classics

After the success of our first Book Club meet up, we're doing it all over again! Join us for the next one at Bookabuy HQ in Sydney!

The afternoon will be a relaxing, fun and interactive event (wine and cheese included). We’ll discuss all things books and literature. There will be lucky door prizes, quizzes, and discussion topics!

The theme is "Vintage Classics". There is no specific book to read prior, but we’ll be chatting about everything from Jane Austen to George Orwell, Harper Lee to F. Scott Fitzgerald, Leo Tolstoy to Charlotte Brontë!

Get Tickets

Back, After the Break cover

Back, After the Break

“When we hear someone with a story similar to ours, the magnitude of our story diminishes and it’s no longer something we have to tackle alone, it’s now something we can get help dealing with — because someone else has dealt with it before and they can show us a path out of the pain.” — Osher Günsberg

Back, After the Break, Osher Günsberg’s incredibly important and honest memoir, has opened up a dialogue about mental illness unlike any other I have ever read. Osher provides a detailed account of his life, from his childhood through to his rising career in radio and television (with many successful shows including The Bachelor Australia and Australian Idol). He also speaks candidly about his struggles with alcoholism and substance abuse.

Growing up with Osher on TV (or Andrew G as we formerly knew him), I never guessed that he was tackling mental illness, and his memoir took me by surprise in many ways. Filled with dark humour in the form of footnotes throughout, the book shines a light on his private battles with depression, anxiety, obsessive compulsive disorder, paranoia and body dysmorphia. Osher’s vivid accounts of his anxiety attacks, paranoid delusions and suicidal ideations bring his story to life in a very raw and harrowing way.

Osher is very open about the fact that his recovery is an ongoing work in progress, and he is on a mission to wipe out the stigma associated with mental illness. He encourages others to see that help is out there if you need it.

Bookabuy Book Club Launch cover

Bookabuy Book Club Launch

Join us on 12 July in Sydney for the first Bookabuy Book Club meetup!

Get Tickets

We Love to Imagine: Joanna cover

We Love to Imagine: Joanna

We love to read, and we love to imagine! Our customers provide incredible detail in their book subscription orders, and we love imagining what they are like in real life!

In the next instalment of our "We Love to Imagine" series, we meet Joanna from Tasmania! Here’s what Joanna told us about herself:

“I work in advocacy and community development. I love to travel and to read stories of far away places. I like to cook but I'm not terribly good at it. I have a dachshund who I adore way too much. I spend a lot of time eating out, at the beach and at the markets. I'm also very interested in Australian art.”

If you’re a current Bookabuy subscriber and would like to be featured next, let us know by emailing us at hello@bookabuy.com.au!

Free Audible audiobooks for Bookabuy subscribers cover

Free Audible audiobooks for Bookabuy subscribers

Great news - we’ve partnered with Audible to offer our subscribers free audiobooks! Purchase any Bookabuy subscription or gift voucher and get an Audible VIP card for 3 free audiobooks!

Audible lets you enjoy great storytelling on the go! There are no strings attached, so you can cancel anytime, love every audiobook or swap it free, and best of all you can take your pick from over 200,000 titles.

Shop now

Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018 cover

Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018

Vote for Bookabuy to win the Australia Post ORIAS People's Choice Awards 2018 and you could win a shopping spree valued at up to $10,000!

Vote here now.

Voting closes at 5pm on 31 May 2018.

Mother's Day Giveaway cover

Mother's Day Giveaway

Mother’s Day is coming up, and we’re giving two lucky people the gift that keeps on giving – a 3-month book subscription package for both themselves and for their Mum!

You can enter via Facebook or Instagram, or both!

Our competition closes on Monday 7 May, and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 8 May.

Good luck!

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir cover

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir

If there is one memoir you need to read this year, it’s this one. Patrisse Khan-Cullors, one of the co-founders of the Black Lives Matter movement, reveals the prejudice and persecution endured by African American people in When They Call You a Terrorist.

Patrisse’s compelling account of the struggles faced by Black people in the US raises awareness about police brutality, mass incarceration, and a host of other vital issues crippling communities. The memoir begins with Patrisse's childhood and with the activism borne within her through family struggles, experiences with love, and the everyday interactions with injustice and systematic racism. It moves as she matures in her relationships, world views, and in womanhood.

When They Call You a Terrorist is a critical contribution to the discussions about social justice in this current world landscape. This is a book that will make people stop and think before they utter the words “All Lives Matter”. This is a book that will force people to rethink the way the US criminal justice system really works. This is a book that will make you think about mental illnesses, how they are discussed and treated throughout the US. This is a book that will make you think about the roles of women and what it means to be Queer or Trans in this continual fight for change.

Necessary, well thought out, emotional and direct. We highly recommend this read.

At First Light cover

At First Light

1993: An old Cuban woman is out walking in Key West when she comes across a Ku Klux Klan rally in the park. Quickly, she returns home, picks up her gun, and returns to shoot and kill a Klan member. When she is arrested she admits to the charges against her: “It was me. I did it.” Is Alicia Cortez a cold-blooded killer?

1919: Escaping Cuba and her family, Alicia Cortez arrives in Key West where she soon meets and falls in love with war hero John Morales. As racial tensions rise in Key West, Alicia and John’s interracial relationship begins to draw the attention of the local Ku Klux Klan, who have recently established themselves within the community.

Inspired by true events, Vanessa Lafaye has beautifully crafted a social history with insights into the mindset of the Ku Klux Klan and their prejudices, the stresses of forbidden love, and life in 1919 Key West, through to the modern-day handling of a crime of passion and revenge. At First Light exposes the evil that permeated the United States, with the Ku Klux Klan taking a central role and, whilst this is a glimpse into the history books, it is frightening to realise the similarities to contemporary events taking place in our current world landscape.

The author uses beautiful and evocative imagery, with an undercurrent of fear, and all of the characters are vividly drawn. The structure of the book is seamless, switching effortlessly from past to present day. Lafaye has an exceptional gift for storytelling.

Every so often a book comes along that you immediately know you're going to read more than once, you want to keep like a treasure on your bookshelf, and you'll be recommending to everyone. At First Light is just that book.

Perfect for readers who enjoyed The Help and To Kill a Mockingbird.