Bookabuy

Start your very own personalised literary journey, or give the gift of reading to a loved one.

Simply pick a book category, choose between a monthly (recurring) or fixed term/gift (1, 3, 6 or 12 month) subscription and give us some information about the reader.

We’ll then deliver a new, handpicked book once a month to yourself or your loved one. Each book is tailored to the reader's interests, beautifully gift-wrapped, and accompanied by a personalised message.

Start a personalised reading journey with Bookabuy today!

Book Categories

As featured in

Huffington Post
B&T
Instagram Business
Broadsheet
Startup Daily
Urban List
Urban List
The Age

News & Reviews

Mother's Day Giveaway cover

Mother's Day Giveaway

Mother’s Day is coming up, and we’re giving two lucky people the gift that keeps on giving – a 3-month book subscription package for both themselves and for their Mum!

You can enter via Facebook or Instagram, or both!

Our competition closes on Monday 7 May, and the winners will be announced on Tuesday 8 May.

Good luck!

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir cover

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir

If there is one memoir you need to read this year, it’s this one. Patrisse Khan-Cullors, one of the co-founders of the Black Lives Matter movement, reveals the prejudice and persecution endured by African American people in When They Call You a Terrorist.

Patrisse’s compelling account of the struggles faced by Black people in the US raises awareness about police brutality, mass incarceration, and a host of other vital issues crippling communities. The memoir begins with Patrisse's childhood and with the activism borne within her through family struggles, experiences with love, and the everyday interactions with injustice and systematic racism. It moves as she matures in her relationships, world views, and in womanhood.

When They Call You a Terrorist is a critical contribution to the discussions about social justice in this current world landscape. This is a book that will make people stop and think before they utter the words “All Lives Matter”. This is a book that will force people to rethink the way the US criminal justice system really works. This is a book that will make you think about mental illnesses, how they are discussed and treated throughout the US. This is a book that will make you think about the roles of women and what it means to be Queer or Trans in this continual fight for change.

Necessary, well thought out, emotional and direct. We highly recommend this read.

At First Light cover

At First Light

1993: An old Cuban woman is out walking in Key West when she comes across a Ku Klux Klan rally in the park. Quickly, she returns home, picks up her gun, and returns to shoot and kill a Klan member. When she is arrested she admits to the charges against her: “It was me. I did it.” Is Alicia Cortez a cold-blooded killer?

1919: Escaping Cuba and her family, Alicia Cortez arrives in Key West where she soon meets and falls in love with war hero John Morales. As racial tensions rise in Key West, Alicia and John’s interracial relationship begins to draw the attention of the local Ku Klux Klan, who have recently established themselves within the community.

Inspired by true events, Vanessa Lafaye has beautifully crafted a social history with insights into the mindset of the Ku Klux Klan and their prejudices, the stresses of forbidden love, and life in 1919 Key West, through to the modern-day handling of a crime of passion and revenge. At First Light exposes the evil that permeated the United States, with the Ku Klux Klan taking a central role and, whilst this is a glimpse into the history books, it is frightening to realise the similarities to contemporary events taking place in our current world landscape.

The author uses beautiful and evocative imagery, with an undercurrent of fear, and all of the characters are vividly drawn. The structure of the book is seamless, switching effortlessly from past to present day. Lafaye has an exceptional gift for storytelling.

Every so often a book comes along that you immediately know you're going to read more than once, you want to keep like a treasure on your bookshelf, and you'll be recommending to everyone. At First Light is just that book.

Perfect for readers who enjoyed The Help and To Kill a Mockingbird.